A mudrā is a spiritual gesture and an energetic seal of authenticity employed in the iconography and spiritual practice of Indian religions from which they have been adopted into Indian dance, and they are also used in traditions of Dharma and Taoism. Mudrās are usually hand positions. Each area of the hand  has a reflex reaction in a specific part of the brain.

Each finger represents the energy of a planet, a determinate quality, and emotions.

  • The thumbs represents the ego.
  • The index finger represents the planet Jupiter and Jupiter represents knowledge and expansion. Mudras involving this finger: Gyan mudra.
  • The middle finger  is associated with Saturn. The planet Saturn
    represents patience, discernment, and the law of karma. This means one
    should be courageous and responsible. Mudras involving this finger: Shuni mudra
  • The ring finger is associated with the sun or Uranus. The Sun
    represents energy, health, and sexuality. Uranus represents the nervous
    system, strength, intuition, and change. Mudras involving this finger: Surya Ravi Mudra
  • The pinky finger it is associated with Mercury. Mercury represents quickness, and the power of communication.Mudras involving this finger: Buddhi Mudra


(really interesting – Thanks Doyali Red rose)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: