Word of the Day: Mondegreen

Mondegreen = misunderstood song lyrics

eg 1 from Led Zeppelin, Stairway to Heave

Actual Line: “and as we wind on down the road, our shadows taller than our souls”

Mondegreen: “and there’s a wino down the road – I should have stolen Oreos”

eg 2 from Billy Joel’s song

Actual line:You
may be right, I may be crazy.

Mondegreen: You made the rice, I made the gravy.

eg 3. From the traditional song Clementine.

Actual line: You
are lost and gone forever; dreadful sorry, Clementine.

Mondegreen: You have lost your gum forever; dreadful sorry, lemon pie.

eg. 4. From I’m a believer by The Monkees

Actual line: :Then
I saw her face, now I’m a believer.

Mondegreen: Then I saw her face, now I’m gonna leave her.

eg 5. From Ticket to Ride by the Beatles

Actual lyric:She’s
got a ticket to ride.

Mondegreens:

(1.) She’s got a chicken to ride. Open-mouthed

(2.) She’s got a tick in her eye.



Leave a Reply

