Mantecados

I was recently in a Spanish country over the Christmas period and tasted these yummy melt-in-your-mouth cookies called Mantecados. mmm mmm mmm good! So in my enthusiasm to try and recreate the deliciousness of these Spanish treats in my own kitchen, I did some research. I discovered that the main traditional ingredient in Mantecados is "manteca". Makes sense if they’re called Mentecados right? They’re named after this main ingredient. Since my knowledge of Spanish is pretty much zero, I eagerly looked up manteca and found out it means……. wait for it……
Lard.
(Now I have a better understanding Homer Simpsons drooling over phrases like "mmmmm lard.." .. even though the idea of lard to me is a bit.. ick.)

So these cookies are actually called… Lardies? Open-mouthed Excellent.
I can just imagine those selling like hotcakes with a name like that.. but hey – they truly do in Spanish countries!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. James
    Jan 01, 2009 @ 19:26:07

    Ahh noo! I would feel pretty let down if the secret ingredient in my favourite cookie was lard (although it probably is!). It could be worse though, I can think of a popular fizzy beverage that shares its name with a class A drug!

    Reply

  2. L1
    Jan 02, 2009 @ 00:49:29

    I suppose it could be worse… maybe if the secret ingredient was some other weird animal secretion or internal organ.. or some strange chemical as you point out. ah well.. when it comes to food, and as long as its a one off taste of something, sometimes ignorance is bliss!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

